New York! New York!

As many of you know, I spent last week in New York. And it was a wild ride ! Everything was in hyperdrive. The rush of people entering the exhibit the first night, the yellow cabs dotting the stand still traffic., watching a conceptual Broadway show. I embraced the buzz of New York with open arms.

This was our ninth year exhibiting at the ArtExpo New York show. And I am happy to announce that the show was a complete success. We sold all the pieces featured at the exhibition!

myartexpo1

But most interesting was the fact that we were voted best exhibit design. I felt really blessed when artists and exhibit goers started to ask us how we had come to think of the exhibition booth itself in a creative manner. After having exhibited for many years, I have become evermore aware of the space around the paintings and how they showcase and draw attention to the work itself. I approach the design of the physical space of my exhibits as a project in itself.

This year I wanted to create a more direct relationship with people. To instigate interaction, I left a wall full of half finished sketches and asked exhibit goers to complete them using charcoal. I love seeing people break out of their shell and showcase their talents. I believe the act of buying a painting should be an experience, and you leave with the painting only as a gift.

myartexpo

In the end, I mostly cherish the moments where I caught someone being emotional effected by my art. I believe that is the one thing art can strive to be, a prompt to a thought bubble.

One comment

  1. Amazing Anna. So incredible and so true. When our gallery clients hear your story and the connection we have with you, they fall deeper in love with the piece that has attracted them in the first place. We can’t wait to have you come back to do a show in our gallery. It’s always an exceptional experience! Well done!

Leave a comment